Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners

Local Housing Authorities are run by a Board of Commissioners made up of involved, committed residents of the municipality in which they are located.


A Local Housing Authority is the principal housing advocate within its community, charged with the responsibility to plan and implement a balanced housing program.  In addition to planning, advocacy, and determining the needs of the low-income population, the Board has the responsibility for placing the agency's operations in the context of policy. 


 All of the laws, regulations, and local requirements which impact the operations, residents and staff of a local housing authority are placed within the framework of policy by it's Board of Commissioners.


Membership on the Needham Housing Authority Board of Commissioners is determined by state law. 


The Board consists of five (5) members, four of whom are elected through the normal town electoral process.  The fifth member is appointed by the Governor.

Needham Housing Authority Board meetings are held monthly and are open to the public.

The current members of the Board of Commissioners of the Needham Housing  Authority are as follows:


Reginald C. Foster, Chairman

State Appointee

Term Expires: 5/7/2021

Scott Brightman, Vice Chairman        

Term Expires: 4/9/2019

Karen Hughey, Treasurer, Commissioner

Term Expires: 4/13/2021     

Peter Pingitore, Commissioner

Term Expires:  4/14/2020


Andrew L. Cohen, Commissioner

Term Expires: 4/10/2018



The Board generally meets on the third Thursday of the month at one of 2 locations, the community room at 5 Chambers Street or 34 Seabeds Way.


2017 Board of Commissioners Meeting Schedule


January 19...5 Chambers

February 20...34 Seabeds Way


March 16...5 Chambers

April 20...34 Seabeds Way

April 22...Special Meeting

Needham Sheraton

May 18...5 Chambers

June 15...34 Seabeds Way


July 20...5 Chambers

August 17..34 Seabeds Way

 Date Change

September 26...5 Chambers

October 19...34 Seabeds Way

November 16...5 Chambers

December 21...34 Seabeds Way